Hold On! Gimme A Sec

When Will MacOS Monterey Be Available for Download?

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on tumblr

macOS Monterey will be released to the general public on Monday, October 25, just a week after Apple released the second release candidate to developers and just a few days after its “Unleashed” media event.

macOS Monterey on MBP Feature

Many users will be looking to update their Macs as soon as Monterey is available, as developers are busy polishing their apps to take advantage of new features in macOS Monterey and support the new MacBook Pro models with Apple’s new high-end M1 Pro and M1 Max chips and a notched display.

Despite the fact that Apple has not provided an exact release date for macOS Monterey, we can make some educated guesses based on Apple’s localized sites for various countries and previous releases.

While Apple lists the release date as October 25 in most parts of the world, localized sites for some Eastern Hemisphere countries list the date as October 26, because the launch time in those countries will be at or after midnight.

Apple’s Indian site lists an October 25 release date, while Apple’s Thai site lists an October 26 release date.

Given that those two countries are 90 minutes apart in time zones, that narrows things down to a window between 8:30 a.m. and 10:00 a.m. Pacific Time. The most likely time for a release in that window would be 10:00 a.m. Pacific Time, which is a standard Apple release time. A release at that time would correspond to 10:30 p.m. in India on October 25 and midnight in Thailand on October 26. This method correctly predicted the release dates of several major Apple operating system updates, including macOS Big Sur last year.

It’s worth noting that Apple’s release times can vary, and it can take some time for updates to propagate across Apple’s servers and become available to all users, so the 10:00 a.m. estimate is just that.

Apple has also stated that iOS 15.1, iPadOS 15.1, watchOS 8.1, tvOS 15.1, and HomePod software 15.1 will be released during the week of October 25, but it does not appear that the company has specified a specific date. There are some cross-platform features that suggest Apple should release all of its updates at once, but we’ll have to wait and see what Apple’s plans are.

Of course, there’s no guarantee that Apple will stick to its usual release schedule with macOS Monterey, but based on our best guess of 10:00 a.m. Pacific Time, here’s how that translates to other time zones in the US and around the world:

  • Honolulu, Hawaii — 7:00 a.m. HST
  • Anchorage, Alaska — 9:00 a.m. AKDT
  • Cupertino, California — 10:00 a.m. PDT
  • Vancouver, Canada — 10:00 a.m. PDT
  • Phoenix, Arizona — 10:00 a.m. MST
  • Denver, Colorado — 11:00 a.m. MDT
  • Chicago, Illinois — 12:00 noon. CDT
  • New York, New York — 1:00 p.m. EDT
  • Toronto, Canada — 1:00 p.m. EDT
  • Halifax, Canada — 2:00 p.m. ADT
  • Rio de Janeiro, Brazil — 2:00 p.m. BRT
  • London, United Kingdom — 6:00 p.m. BST
  • Berlin, Germany — 7:00 p.m. CEST
  • Paris, France — 7:00 p.m. CEST
  • Cape Town, South Africa — 7:00 p.m. SAST
  • Helsinki, Finland — 8:00 p.m. EEST
  • Moscow, Russia — 8:00 p.m. MSK
  • Istanbul, Turkey — 8:00 p.m. TRT
  • Dubai, United Arab Emirates — 9:00 p.m. GST
  • Delhi, India — 10:30 p.m. IST
  • Jakarta, Indonesia — 12:00 midnight WIB next day
  • Shanghai, China — 1:00 a.m. CST next day
  • Singapore — 1:00 a.m. SGT next day
  • Perth, Australia — 1:00 a.m. AWST next day
  • Hong Kong — 1:00 a.m. HKT next day
  • Seoul, South Korea — 2:00 a.m. KST next day
  • Tokyo, Japan — 2:00 a.m. JST next day
  • Brisbane, Australia – 3:00 a.m. AEST next day
  • Adelaide, Australia — 3:30 a.m. ACDT next day
  • Sydney, Australia — 4:00 a.m. AEDT next day
  • Auckland, New Zealand — 6:00 a.m. NZDT next day

‌macOS Monterey‌ is compatible with many of the Macs that were able to run macOS Big Sur, but it drops support for some older MacBook Air and iMac models from 2013 and 2014 as well as the 2015 MacBook. Compatible machines are outlined below:

  • Early 2016 and later MacBook
  • Early 2015 and later ‌MacBook Air‌
  • Early 2015 and later MacBook Pro
  • Late 2015 and later ‌iMac‌
  • 2017 and later ‌iMac‌ Pro
  • Late 2014 and later Mac mini
  • Late 2013 and later Mac Pro
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on tumblr
ADVERTISEMENT

Related